Character Hair Design

I had established from the moment this idea and desire to create a game entered my head, that my lead character would be female. Female characters have alot more options for style and design than a male character due to all the hair style, colour and clothing options. The possibilities are endless. So i decided to begin with hair styles as i thought it might be easier to decide what type of clothing options my character would wear when the particular hair style i decided on was finalised.

I began my doing really rough drawings in pen on a piece of old lined paper as you can see below.

IMAG0256 IMAG0258  IMAG0261

I then put these images into photoshop and traced the drawing i had done in black, and made it neater with stronger more confident lines, to give a better drawing style as you can see below. I also wrote down some notes on my thoughts on the hair style and where my inspiration came from for each one.

hair concepts

Once happy with my drawings i began exploring colour. hair colour

For the first two i went for natural colours such as ginger and blonde, but then decided to venture into an unnatural colour like the pink in the 3rd drawing. Once the page was completed i then decided number my top 3 on the page.

Number 1…

Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 15.49.29

Number 2…

Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 15.49.38

and number 3…

Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 15.49.49

Despite liking these designs, i didnt feel satisfied and didnt feel i had reached the look i wanted to achieve, so i kept drawing. This time however i didn’t begin by drawing a scrap piece of paper, i started straight into photoshop but drew roughly in pink like you can see below…

Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 15.54.52

Once happy with the basic rough drawing i then drew on a separate layer, in black, my finalised drawings…

Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 15.56.51

Once happy, i once again began playing with colour options, here is the finished page…

hair2.00

out of this looks, i once again chose my top 3 which where

number 1

Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 16.04.35

number 2

Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 16.04.46

and number 3

Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 16.04.50

out of all of the designs my absolute favorite is this one…

Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 16.04.35

i was very drawn to the deep red in previous designs, but thought with this pastel pink and big wavy hair that it matched the style and aesthetics that i hope for my game to have. So whats next? Creating the rest of the character!

Leave a Reply

